January Book Review: The Hazards of Skinny Dipping

17408503

Title: The Hazards of Skinny Dipping

Author: Alyssa Rose Ivy

Pages: 256

“I set aside the fake ID and read the note…Juliet’s Must Do Before College List…” 

300+ words

Juliet is just a girl trying to figure things out as she starts at university. She goes through her own version of what most new college student go through when they uproot their lives, move to a different city, and go to live on their own for the first time. She makes some wrong turns and some right turns and I won’t tell you how it ends, but it was definitely worth the read. I think what really drew me into loving the book is that Juliet reminds me a lot of my friends or myself. It is very true to what I have seen during my years at university. It has the obvious villain and hero concept involved which, although is overdone, is played out so poetically and raw. This was something I have true respect for in literature because it is often never the case in fiction.

 

I, however, did not like the overplayed psychologically abusive and tortured character, Dylan, in the book. I will not lie, about half way through the book I almost put it down because I had the thought of “Oh great, it is another version of a certain mature trilogy of psycho-sadism being played out in a university setting..” Put your minds at ease, it in fact is not, Thank God.

All in all, I was more than pleased with this book, originally suggested to me by one of my friends. It is witty, real, and a marvelous piece of young adult fiction. It is definitely more of a poolside read or something to just relax with on a Sunday. Alyssa Rose Ivy is a master writer when it comes to understanding the young 20-something woman’s psyche. We all have some version of a Dylan and some version of Reed that we experience in our young lives and it is nice to be somewhat of a bystander, as the reader, in a story that is so relatable.

More on the Author: http://www.alyssaroseivy.com

Purchase the book: https://www.amazon.com/Hazards-Skinny-Dipping-Alyssa-Rose/dp/1484044177/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

(but it is free on iTunes)

 

word count: 368

4 thoughts on “January Book Review: The Hazards of Skinny Dipping

  1. I have to say that I had my own premonitions about this book when I looked at the cover. “Oh look, a sloppily written piece of softcore smut.” Thankfully, your review was able to prove my prejudices wrong, the cliche adage about book covers really is true.
    I’d like to read a book like this at some point in the near future, because it would be an awfully nice break from all the books leaving me depressed about the bleakness of the world. What’s wrong with reading something lighter that you can relate to? As you keenly put it, a “poolside read” is something that I would be in the market for. I’m surprised to learn that there’s a hero-villain conflict in this book, I certainly didn’t expect it.
    Even if I’m not in the gender demographic of this book, it would great to have more insight into “understanding the young 20-something woman’s psyche”. So much of society is stratified into thinking that whatever falls outside our own worldview is bad, (whether that’s in gender, race, class, age, religion, etc.) that we forget to try to empathize instead of attacking.

  2. This book seems like an alright read. I like the quote you started off with as well. Although I wouldn’t care for the psychological abuse either so I’m with you there on that one.

  3. I would probably like this book. I wont ever really keep reading a book unless i can relate in some way shape or form, unless it is REALLY intriguing. I can see myself relating to this book, not the girl part, but the whole finding my way through college thing. You seem glad that you didn’t abandon the book halfway so I’ll definitely look this book up a little more.

Leave a Reply

